03/16/05 - Village Elects Two Trustees and Police Justice

The Village of Akron held its biennial election yesterday, March 15, 2005 to elect two Village Trustees and a Police Justice. There were five candidates who were seeking the two Village Trustee seats and one candidate seeking the Police Justice seat.

Incumbent Trustee E. Peter Forrestel, II was re-elected to his third term as Trustee and newcomer William P. Kaufman was elected to the other Trustee position. Trustee Charles P. Yaeger, after 8 years on the Village Board did not seek re-election. Police Justice Dennis R. Freeman ran unopposed and was re-elected.

The voting results are as follows:

Village Trustee Police Justice
E. Peter Forrestel, II 295 Votes Dennis R. Freeman 438 Votes
William P. Kaufman 221 Votes
Gregory A. Brown 212 Votes
Cynthia L. Schilling 143 Votes
Erik M. Polkowski 137 Votes

A total of 542 voters of the 2,021 registered voters in the Village of Akron (26.82%) turned out to cast ballots in the election.

The newly elected officials will be sworn into office at 12:00 o’clock noon on Monday, April 4, 2005.

« News Archive