03/21/07 - Village Elects New Mayor and Two Trustees

The Village of Akron held its biennial election yesterday, March 20, 2007 to elect a new Mayor and two Village Trustees. There were two candidates seeking Ray M. Perkins vacant mayoral seat. Mayor Perkins suddenly passed away on October 2, 2006. Trustee Carl Patterson was elected Mayor and received 339 votes while write in candidate Millard Young received 246 votes.

Incumbent Trustee Michael R. Middaugh was re-elected to his second term as Trustee and newcomer Kathryn A. Capan was elected to the other Trustee position.

The voting results are as follows:

Village Mayor: Village Trustee:
Carl E. Patterson 339 Votes Michael R. Middaugh 438 Votes
Millard Young 246 Votes Kathryn A. Capan 414 Votes
    Joseph Matusek 271 Votes
    Michael Schilling 189 Votes

The newly elected officials will be sworn into office at 12:00 o'clock noon on Monday, April 2, 2007.

« News Archive